newest

older

e-mail

profile

diaryland

rings

template by
elegant masque

2003-06-09
World Views

Hm.

I am hated, but what can I do about that? Nothing. Any attempt to contact my ex will be treated as a hostile action, with possible legal ramifications. So I must endure being hated.

The dynamics between her and I reveal much about the different worldviews we have.

She, being collectivistic, says "You are proud of what you made me."

I, being individualistic, respond with "No, I am not proud about what I did to you."

That's a pretty big difference there, and it's not the difference of disagreement. She has me judging myself by someone else, but I have me judging myself by me. She is other-centered, while I am self-centered (and I do not mean it in the common usage).

Based on that distinction, it should come as no surprise that she is Green while I am Libertarian.

While I was very bad to her, I wonder how much of what she considers bad was a result of that different point of view. Some of the things she accuses me of are not substantiated, even though I admit my guilt to a great deal.

<-- -->