newest

older

e-mail

profile

diaryland

rings

template by
elegant masque

2009-08-07
Yet another failure

Gods I think it's hopeless sometimes.

So back in March I got my tax return. By June it was run through thanks in part to a $1000 bill from the hospital that tols us what we already knew about my son's developmental delay. Then in July our Air Conditioner breaks. Now we're $12k in debt buying a new air conditioner.

The AC left a parting gift - just before it died it doubled our electric bill. And to top it all off, today I lost my perscription sunglasses.

Thanks to the power bill and the AC bill, I don't have money for new sunglasses.

I swear it seems as if the fates conspire to keep me poor. I work very hard to save money, to not spend what I do not need to spend, so every time I eliminate a debt a bigger one replaces it.

Why did the AC have to break now?

The funny thing is there have been exactly three heat waves this summer. The first was when I built our shed. The second was when my inlaws were visiting. The third was when the AC broke. The rest of the time this has been an absurdly cool summer.

The most ironic part is that I was in the middle of a ritual working to change my kismet. I decided I'd had enough and wanted greater financial security, so I used a rather potent pre-charged candel to bring me that. According to the terms of the spell things would last longer, not break as often, not wear out as fast, and the farm would be more productive, and nobody would get hurt to make this happen. I forgot to include "and I don't lose things that it would cost money to replace."

Leave a loophole, fate uses it.

There is a silver lining. Come the end of February I'll have been with my new employer for two years.

<-- -->