newest

older

e-mail

profile

diaryland

rings

template by
elegant masque

2004-02-17
Two Movies

I recently saw two rather interesting movies.

The new Peter Pan movie I do recommend. While it does vary from the book (and what movie doesn't), this one not only stays fairly true, it is truer than the Disney version. The Disney cartoon is still truer than a truly awful version, a stage play on film basically, where Peter is played by an adult woman. They capture a great deal of the romantic tension between Peter and Wendy is a very compelling way, with both of them on the verge of adulthood, but Peter retreating from it. The Pirates weren't quite bloody enough, but this film will be seen by children. Tinkerbell's revival is also pretty good.

The other movie I saw was Big Fish. It was recommended to me by my finacee, and I do not regret it. It is a very interesting story about the intertwining of fact and fiction, and a life that was larger than life but still not as large as the stories about that life.

That's all for now.

<-- -->