newest

older

e-mail

profile

diaryland

rings

template by
elegant masque

2002-10-28
It's a Farce

Ok, I am not sure, but I think today is better than the last entry. Then again it isn't. I had a mixed lot today. I found out I am 28th in line for a job with the county.

I had my fit of irrational rage, but it passed. Then I discovered another one of my fish has died, and another one disappeared. So I collected my remaining four fish and set them free. Yes, I flushed them down the toilet. I realized later that I could have given them to a friend who had a fishtank. I hope my fish are alright in their new home, and I hope they can find food in the sewer. I don't want to hurt anyone, but I fear I hurt my fish.

Now I'm depressed.

I wish I had thought of my friend with the fishtank. It took me a while to get the fishtank in proper operation, and by the time I had, there was just too much accumulated trash in the tank.

I ran out of cigarettes, so I had to go shopping. I also ran out of alcohol, so I picked that up too. It doesn't help the depression, but it dulls everything I feel, physically and emotionally.

I got a haircut today. This weekend is my guard duty, so I had to get the haircut. I also need to shave. I have a beard right now. I shave for guard weekends and for job interviews. I have a beard. What does that tell you?

I can't even really watch television, because all the parts that show life as good just get me more depressed, except for the commercials that I simply can't understand. It is a rare occasion when I turn past Cartoon Network or Sci-Fi. Anything commercial with any romantic overtones simply gets me depressed AND angry.

Then again, since it's Monday, tonight should be "Headlines" on Jay Leno, unless it is a rerun like it was last week.

This is a sad state for an Objectivist to be in. Ah well, who is John Galt? I had no choice in my joining the strike. My boss made me join the strike when he removed my job. I wouldn't mind so much but I'm still paying my way out of the credit trap I fell into in the early 90's. In the EARLY 90's. What can I say? At least in the winter I don't have to pay for environmental controls for my apartment. The ambient heat is more than enough to keep me warm. It's the summer that's expensive.

Well, that's the news from Lake Woebegone, where all the Women are Strong, the Men Good Looking, and all the Children are Above Average.

<-- -->