newest

older

e-mail

profile

diaryland

rings

template by
elegant masque

2002-11-22
Stay of Execution

Ok, I win a stay of execution. My unemployment check came in the mail. No need for military or parents. I am significantly less depressed (considering that my depression is based partly on finances) and have taken stock.

Supposedly, the recession is over for everyone except the IT field. Well, let us say that is true ... then I am in the wrong field. Likewise, Engineers may get paid high dollar amounts, yet spend half their time unemployed averaging a pay lower than their stated pay scale. It is time for me to choose a new job, yet I am undecided what the new job should be.

I mean, accounting looks like there is always a demand, yet it is boring. Graphic Artist sounds cool, yet how to get into it. No matter what I choose, I need to go back to college. In the mean time I'll choose a lesser job so that I can make ends meet until I graduate again.

I need to choose a job. Any advice?

Something aside from medicine, in which there is usually a decent demand. I can't do medicine, it is not good when the doctor barfs on a patient after seeing the injury.

I don't know. I'll spend the weekend trying to think of what to do.

And since I have GI Bill, paying for college won't be difficult. Hell, I even have the Air Guard Kicker Program, which is like the GI Bill, but give me yet more money. The Guard may be trying to rip me off, so I'll rip them in return. If the military loves ripping off it's members so much, let the members rip off the military in return. At one point in my entier service, I actually had morale. That time is not right now.

Actually, I had morale until I discovered they were not going to fulfill their promise of paying back my student loans. They didn't actually lie, they just neglected to tell me about a loophole they intended to use.

Ah, the military. They lie by omission. They never actually say anything that is untrue, but they can lead you to believe the exact opposite by judicious inclusion and exclusion of the facts.

On another note, I got another reprieve. My ex has decided that we can still talk. I was already depressed, and her dropping all contact was one more load, but now it's no longer a burden. She said she felt guilty about dropping me like that. I am grateful that she resumed contact.

So now, just when I was about to fall into oblivion, I found a knot at the end of the rope to hold on to.

<-- -->