newest

older

e-mail

profile

diaryland

rings

template by
elegant masque

2014-06-17
People I've Met

It is interesting as I look back on my life. There seems to be something unusual about me in particular, as if I'm outside the usual rules of fate.

I may have met my doppleganger. There I was in a Greyhound station. I saw this guy wearing a green trench coat, a black fedora, jeans, tee-shirt, and combat boots. And glasses. Which was exactly what I was wearing. So I go up to him and compliment him on his fashion choices.

Rather startled, he turned around, looked me over, laughed, and accepted the compliment. We talked, discovered several common interests, and had a near-by family ask if we were related. Quite honestly we met for the first and last time that day.

I've definitely met my bizarro. The bizarro is the person made of the same material you are but is put together exactly the opposite way. Mine was so distressingly normal it made me feel downright creepy. He, like me, aspired to be a renaissance man. It was a mutual friend that introduced us, a girl that I was rather devoted to but she was dating him instead.

Afterwards she asked me what I thought of him. I answered "well, he think he knows everything." She laughed and said that's what he said about me.

Sometimes I wonder what happened to that mutual friend. She was a sweet girl but had a series of poor choices in men. This guy was better for her than previous guys, but he was very domineering and controlling - again my bizarro.

Then I've met Ana Ng, as readers of this diary know. And while you might meet your doppleganger or your bizarro, you are absolutely not supposed to meet your Ana Ng. In defense of fate's design, I met her once it was too late to pursue her so in a way it satisfies the requirement that you will just barely miss each other.

The only thing left is for me to meet Godot.

<-- -->